Ursuline News

2024 Tehan Award and Teacher of the Year Award Announced

Congratulations to Jocelyn Holmes, this year's Hal and Joann Tehan Award Recipient, and Olivia Ide, Teacher of the Year. 

The Tehan Award

The Tehan Award was established by Hal Tehan to honor a teacher whose life and work demonstrates strong integration of the Ursuline mission.

When announced as this year's Tehan Award Recipient, Art teacher Jocelyn Holmes (pictured right) was surprised and humbled by the honor.

An art teacher at Ursuline since 2010, she loves guiding students in developing their skills in drawing and painting through Studio Art and AP Art and Design courses. 

She has chaired the Visual Arts Department for over a decade in addition to serving as Co-Moderator for the National Art Honor Society and the Esse Literary Magazine.

With the recent establishment of the Popolo Art Gallery on Ursuline's East Campus, Jocelyn is ready to embrace her newest role as Gallery Director. 

"In addition to overseeing the schools’ permanent art collection featuring a growing number of Alumnae artwork, my vision includes curating art shows that highlight the diverse talents of students, teachers, and alumnae," she said.

Whether orchestrating educational trips to the ISAS Art Festival or overseeing Ursuline’s annual Fine Art Exhibition, which showcases an impressive array of over 450 works, what Jocelyn finds most rewarding is Ursuline's steadfast support for nurturing students’ artistic growth and fostering their creative voices.

"I cherish the relationships I cultivate with my students," she said. "Witnessing their artistic journeys and subsequent achievements in various art professions is the ultimate reward."

Jocelyn is currently working on a doctoral degree and enjoys traveling to see art when time allows. Her exploration of philosophy and the intersection of art with social justice issues continues to enrich both her personal life and her work as a teacher.

Teacher of the Year

The Teacher of the Year is a peer-nominated award for someone who serves as a role model for students and models 21st century learning skills and teaching tools.

Olivia Ide (pictured left), who just completed her fourteenth year at Ursuline, is a Social Studies teacher and Moderator for Model UN. 

Her favorite part about being a teacher at Ursuline is the students and her colleagues. 

"I know everyone says that, but everyone is right!" she said. "We have such wonderful students who are kind, funny, and curious and my colleagues are so talented and interesting."

What she finds most rewarding about teaching is when a student lets her know she's helped them or made a positive impact on their life and learning.

"Teaching gets me out of my own head and keeps me on my toes," she said.

Receiving this year's Teacher of the Year Award means a lot to her.

"I work with such an incredible group of teachers and knowing that they put my name forward is humbling and greatly appreciated," she said.

In her free time, Olivia enjoys chasing after her three little kids, running, baking cupcakes, reading a good book, and when opportunity allows - traveling!

UA Employee Years of Service Milestones

5 Years

  • Kevin Braun, Mathematics & Computer Science
  • Kristina Caldwell, Science
  • Dororthy Cassetta, Social Studies
  • Leah Chapman, Communications
  • Darrin Hedges, Athletics
  • Jeffrey Meyer, Social Studies
  • Andrea Pujol, Mathematics
  • Katy Valente, Student Counseling
  • Alejandra Wallace, World Language

10 Years

  • Stephanie Butler, Performing Arts
  • Katie Lee, Mathematics
  • Robert Irwin, Mathematics
  • Angie Jakubik, Theology
  • Lanette Lambertson, Communications
  • Jonathan Schweikhard, Performing Arts
  • Andi Shurley, Principal
  • Stephanie Gerken, Athletics

15 Years

  • Vandana Blankenship, College Counseling
  • Tammy Yung, Mathematics

20 Years

  • Alicia Estes, College Counseling
  • Mario Ortiz, Facilities

25 Years

  • Renee Chevallier, Librarian

40 Years

  • Jane Chambers, Performing Arts

45 Years

  • Leah Schlief-Freese, Visual Arts

Congratulations and best wishes to the following UA employees who are retiring:

  • Valerie Oates, Director of Communications
  • Tammy Yung, Math teacher
  • Teri Uber, Executive Assistant to the President
  • Maria Fernandez, Facilities
  • Juanita Fernandez, Facilities