Board of Trustees

Guardians of the Ursuline Mission

The Ursuline Academy Board of Trustees is comprised of 22 dedicated professionals including Ursuline Sisters, alumnae, parents of alumnae, and community leaders. The Board focuses on both the current and future needs of Ursuline Academy of Dallas. A board of limited jurisdiction, the Board of Trustees is responsible for policy, rather than programs or procedures. Operating management of the Academy is fully delegated to the President as head of school. Completely strategic in its scope, the Board of Trustees guards and promotes the Ursuline mission, holding fiduciary responsibility for the Academy long term.

Key Board Activities


Development and monitoring of the Ursuline Academy strategic plan, with approval of all objectives and strategies.


Formulating and review of policies affecting school life.


Approval and monitoring of Academy operating budget; approval of limited investment as it relates to the annual operation of the school.


Approval and monitoring of the comprehensive development plan (i.e., capital campaign, marketing, public relations, recruitment and retention, support groups).

Board members represent present and future generations, not specific constituencies; parents of current Ursuline students are ineligible to serve on the Ursuline Academy Board of Trustees.


Standing Committees

  • Executive
  • Trusteeship
  • Finance/Audit
  • Development
  • Mission and Heritage
  • Building and Grounds


  • Community and Inclusion
  • Sponsorship

custom-module tan hide-title

Academy Board of Trustees 2023-2024

Jon Piot, Chair
Mary Lynn Bangs
Sr. Ann Barrett, O.S.U.
Win Bell
Jim Burke
Peter Collins
Joe Coleman
Alfredo Duarte
Allie Dunklin '04
Julia Ermish
Laura Fox '73
Jennifer Staubach Gates '84
Kara Sherman Gehan '85
David Holl
Belinda Grant-Anderson
Aimee Baillargeon Griffiths '90
Mary Pat Higgins
Richard Joyner
John R. Landon
Vicki Vaughan Miller '75
Aileen Pratt
Sheri Sullivan Wilson '07

Ex-Officio Members
Gretchen Kane, President
Karen Mortillaro
Dr. Andrea Shurley, Principal